Buffer in short
Buffer prices paid scheduling by channel, with an ongoing free option for up to three channels. Essentials is the one-user scheduling plan in our cost comparison; Team adds team members and approval workflows. Its named channel list includes Substack, and its community inbox names X comments.
- Essentials: USD $6 per channel monthly through ten channels
- USD $60 monthly (Essentials, ten channels)
- Yes, up to three channels
Reasons to keep Buffer
- The free option covers up to three channels; monthly paid scheduling grows with the number of channels.
- The twelve named channel types include Substack, Bluesky, Mastodon and Google Business Profile.
- The community inbox lists comments from ten networks, including X, and Essentials lists advanced analytics.
Choose Buffer instead if
You want to keep a free option for a small channel list, or need the Substack publishing and X comment support named on its public pages. Compare the approval plan separately from the cheapest scheduling price.
Sources: buffer.com/pricing, buffer.com/mcp. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
When a different tool may fit
Your network mix changed
List each network and its account count. PEP allows one account per network per workspace; repeated networks need Agency workspaces. Brand and social-set products have different distribution limits. Compare the setup you can connect, not just nominal account capacity.
Your review process changed
Name the approver and whether publishing must wait. Preview comments, an enforced approval state and client sign-off are different workflows. Test revisions and the permissions of each reviewer before changing tools.
You need more than scheduling
List comments, messages, analytics and reports separately. Check the inbox gaps and add-on requirements in each card. Price the plan that actually includes the work you need before canceling a subscription.
How we compared
We read public pages in Chromium on 31 October 2026 and saved their visible text for quote checks. PEP facts and prices come from repository code. We did not run hands-on trials for every vendor.
Monthly billing is shown unless labeled otherwise. Hootsuite showed EUR on annual billing to a Netherlands visitor; we make no currency conversion. Prices exclude optional add-ons and assume the included minimum users. The list is organized by workflow, with our own tool marked, rather than ranked by incompatible price units.
“Not stated” means the captured public text did not establish the capability or entitlement. It does not prove the vendor cannot do it. Recheck the linked sources, exact plan and platform coverage before paying.
Eight alternatives
PostEveryPlatform Our tool
Best for: Agent drafts with owner approval by default
This is our tool. An agent can draft and schedule through scoped keys or hosted MCP, with owner approval on by default. Replies are not held. Team adds client approval links and unlimited seats; Solo is for one person. Agency includes white-label reports and client approval pages, a Clients overview, and monthly report links that always show the last full month. Start by counting different networks, because a second brand on the same network needs another workspace on Agency. Read the agent guide, API reference and plans before choosing.
- Starting price
- Solo: $19 monthly, or $180 for twelve months
- 10 accounts
- $29 monthly (Team); ten different networks in one workspace
- Free plan
- No ongoing free plan; 7-day trial, card required; see Pricing for today's offer
- Approvals
- Agent gate on every paid plan; client links from Team
- API / MCP
- Scoped REST API and hosted MCP on every paid plan
Key features
- Agent posts wait for owner approval by default; the owner can allow a key to skip approval.
- Twelve posting networks include Reddit, Mastodon, Bluesky, X, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest and Google Business.
- The inbox supports reading and replying on ten platforms, including Google Business reviews; post views or impressions, likes, comments and shares depend on posting partner analytics access.
- Agency-only white-label reports and client approval pages use your name, logo and accent colour, with PostEveryPlatform branding hidden. No custom domain.
What's missing
- X replies are not brought in: our posting partner does not import X comments. Pinterest comments are not available.
- Custom domains for reports and client approval pages are not available. A second account on a network requires another workspace, available only with Agency.
- There is no permanent free plan. Trials can be paused, so check Pricing for the current offer.
Switch from Buffer to PostEveryPlatform if
You want a scoped agent workflow with an explicit owner approval gate and your network mix fits the workspace rules. At thirty accounts, budget for Agency ($89 monthly); do not use Studio's nominal account allowance as a workaround.
Source: plans, agent guide and repository code.
Postiz
Best for: More networks and a self-hosting option
Postiz advertises publishing to more than thirty channels and sells hosted plans by channel allowance. Standard is solo; Team and above list unlimited team members. It includes MCP, CLI and API access on every plan. Its approval guide describes collecting comments on a preview and then manually scheduling the draft.
- Starting price
- Standard: USD $29 monthly for five channels
- 10 accounts
- USD $39 monthly (Team, ten channels)
- Free plan
- Hosted pricing offers a seven-day trial
- Approvals
- Preview feedback; no approved flag blocking publishing
- API / MCP
- MCP, CLI and API on every plan
Key features
- Standard covers five channels, Team ten and Pro thirty, with unlimited posts listed on the pricing cards.
- Named platforms include Discord as well as X, Reddit, Bluesky and Mastodon, within an advertised 30+ channel selection.
- Self-hosting is offered as a secondary option; hosted plans include agent access and analytics.
What's missing
- A preview link collects feedback; you move the post to scheduled after sign-off rather than relying on an approved flag.
- Standard has no team support, so budget for Team if collaborators need access.
- Imported inbox platform coverage and a white-label report entitlement are not stated in the captured text.
Switch from Buffer to Postiz if
You need its broader channel selection, want a self-hosting option or have a thirty-account setup where Pro's hosted price is lower than PEP Agency. Check the review flow if approval must block publishing.
Sources: postiz.com/pricing, docs.postiz.com/general/approvals, postiz.com. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Hootsuite
Best for: Brand monitoring, messaging and custom reports
Hootsuite sells paid plans per user. The captured Netherlands visit showed EUR prices based on annual billing. Standard covers ten accounts, while Professional lists unlimited accounts and adds inbox automation and custom performance reports. Advanced adds team approval and message assignment.
- Starting price
- Standard: EUR 99 per user per month, billed annually
- 10 accounts
- EUR 1,188 per year (Standard, one user, ten accounts)
- Free plan
- No ongoing free offer stated; fourteen-day trial
- Approvals
- Advanced adds team review and approval
- API / MCP
- AI chat tools named; REST API entitlement not stated
Key features
- Standard lists a messaging inbox and monitoring of your brand and competitors.
- Professional adds automated inbox replies, workflows and custom performance reports.
- Advanced lists coordinated team approval, message assignment and team performance features.
What's missing
- The public page did not publish a monthly-billing amount; the quoted rate requires annual billing.
- Additional user seats cost extra. Do not read the one-user example as the price for every reviewer.
- The captured pricing text does not establish exact inbox platforms or an anonymous client approval link.
Switch from Buffer to Hootsuite if
Your team needs the published monitoring, messaging automation or reporting tools. Choose the right plan and multiply by actual user seats, then compare the EUR annual commitment with your own budget without assuming a USD conversion.
Sources: hootsuite.com/plans, hootsuite.com/platform/publishing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Planable
Best for: Review workflows and unlimited collaborators
Planable sells workspaces with page and monthly post limits. Basic holds four social pages and Pro ten; both list unlimited users and MCP. Pro adds a Public API and Grid view, and Enterprise lists multi-level approvals. The first fifty posts are free without a time limit or a card.
- Starting price
- Basic: USD $39 per workspace monthly for four pages
- 10 accounts
- USD $59 monthly (one Pro workspace, ten pages)
- Free plan
- First fifty posts free; finite allowance
- Approvals
- Two types on Basic; three on Pro; multi-level Enterprise
- API / MCP
- MCP on Basic; Public API on Pro
Key features
- Unlimited users are listed on both Basic and Pro, so a small page list can still have several collaborators.
- Nine named scheduling networks include Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, YouTube, TikTok, Pinterest, Google Business Profile and Threads.
- Pro lists Feed, Calendar and Grid views; Enterprise lists multi-level approvals.
What's missing
- Basic allows sixty posts per workspace per month; Pro allows one hundred fifty.
- Analytics and the social inbox are separate add-ons on Basic and Pro; the headline price excludes them.
- The captured pricing text does not establish an anonymous approval link or a self-hosted product option.
Switch from Buffer to Planable if
You organize content review around a brand workspace, need unlimited collaborators on a small plan or require the published multi-level Enterprise approval flow. Include the inbox and analytics add-ons in a like-for-like budget.
Source: planable.io/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Publer
Best for: A per-account calculator and a small free option
Publer offers a free option for three non-X accounts and a calculator for paid account quantities. With ten accounts and no additional members, its monthly calculator displayed USD $36 for Professional. It separately asks for additional members when collaboration and approval workflows are needed. Business lists API and MCP access.
- Starting price
- Professional: USD $5 monthly for one account; volume pricing applies
- 10 accounts
- USD $36 monthly (Professional, ten accounts, no extra members)
- Free plan
- Yes, three social accounts except X
- Approvals
- Additional members for collaboration and approvals
- API / MCP
- API and MCP listed on Business
Key features
- Professional lists unlimited scheduling and drafts, first comments, threads and media storage.
- Unlimited workspaces and RSS automations are named in Professional's feature list.
- Business lists access to the Publer API and MCP, plus analytics insights and reports.
What's missing
- The free option excludes X and does not represent the paid API and MCP offering.
- The ten-account quote assumes no extra members. Add collaborators in the calculator if they need approval workflows.
- A separate anonymous approval link and imported inbox platform list are not established by these captured sources.
Switch from Buffer to Publer if
You prefer a bill based on account quantity and want to inspect it in a calculator. Check the Business tier for agent access, then add the members your review process needs rather than comparing a solo quote to a team plan.
Source: publer.com/plans. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Later
Best for: Social sets, visual planning and review
Later sells social sets rather than an arbitrary number of individual profiles. Growth lists two sets with sixteen profiles total, two of each supported network, and two users. Its monthly price is USD $50. It includes internal and external collaboration and approvals and a social inbox.
- Starting price
- Starter: USD $25 monthly for one social set
- 10 accounts
- USD $50 monthly (Growth, two social sets)
- Free plan
- Captured page offers a fourteen-day trial
- Approvals
- Growth: internal and external collaboration and approvals
- API / MCP
- Not stated on the captured pricing page
Key features
- Growth includes two social sets and two users in the published monthly plan.
- Internal and external collaboration and approvals appear together with its social inbox.
- Growth lists a cap of one hundred eighty scheduled posts per profile and permits extra social sets for an additional charge.
What's missing
- Two social sets mean two profiles of each supported network, not sixteen profiles on one network.
- Growth's included users are limited to two; extra people and extra sets require an additional budget.
- API access, MCP and a supported self-hosting option are not stated in the captured pricing text.
Switch from Buffer to Later if
Your account list fits social sets and you need its published internal and external review workflow. Write down the profile count per network, the number of reviewers and your monthly post volume before comparing it with a flat account tier.
Source: later.com/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Metricool
Best for: Per-brand analytics and reporting
Metricool prices by brand. Each brand holds one profile for each social network or ad platform, so a Starter plan with up to five brands can cover ten accounts when their distribution fits. The captured monthly USD rate for that Starter quantity is USD $25. X is an add-on, and role management, approvals and API access are listed on Advanced.
- Starting price
- Starter: USD $25 monthly for up to five brands
- 10 accounts
- USD $25 monthly (Starter; brand/network limits; X extra)
- Free plan
- Yes, one brand; excludes LinkedIn and X; twenty posts monthly
- Approvals
- Post approval system on Advanced
- API / MCP
- MCP listed on Free; API on Advanced
Key features
- Starter lists PDF and PPT reports, analytics with unlimited history and multiple link-in-bio pages.
- Advanced lists team and client management, roles, approval workflows and customizable report templates.
- Each brand can manage one profile per network or ad platform; Free lists Metricool MCP.
What's missing
- The headline Starter price excludes the X add-on and Advanced's team approval and API capabilities.
- A second profile on the same network needs another brand; inspect the brand distribution before comparing account totals.
- Free excludes LinkedIn and Twitter and limits publishing to twenty posts per month.
Switch from Buffer to Metricool if
You want brand-based reporting and your account distribution fits the brand allowances. Choose Advanced when you need its documented roles, approvals or API; do not attach those features to the cheaper Starter quote.
Source: metricool.com/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Side by side
| Tool | Price model | 10 accounts a month | Free plan | Approvals | API / MCP |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bufferfor reference | Per channel; volume discount | USD $60 monthly (Essentials, ten channels) | Yes, up to three channels | Team lists content approval workflows | API access on pricing cards; MCP even on Free |
| PostEveryPlatform | Flat plan; network/workspace limits | $29 monthly (Team); ten different networks in one workspace | No ongoing free plan; 7-day trial, card required; see Pricing for today's offer | Agent gate on every paid plan; client links from Team | Scoped REST API and hosted MCP on every paid plan |
| Postiz | Flat channel tiers | USD $39 monthly (Team, ten channels) | Hosted pricing offers a seven-day trial | Preview feedback; no approved flag blocking publishing | MCP, CLI and API on every plan |
| Hootsuite | Per user; annual EUR shown | EUR 1,188 per year (Standard, one user, ten accounts) | No ongoing free offer stated; fourteen-day trial | Advanced adds team review and approval | AI chat tools named; REST API entitlement not stated |
| Planable | Per workspace | USD $59 monthly (one Pro workspace, ten pages) | First fifty posts free; finite allowance | Two types on Basic; three on Pro; multi-level Enterprise | MCP on Basic; Public API on Pro |
| Publer | Per account with volume pricing | USD $36 monthly (Professional, ten accounts, no extra members) | Yes, three social accounts except X | Additional members for collaboration and approvals | API and MCP listed on Business |
| Later | Social sets; per-network limits | USD $50 monthly (Growth, two social sets) | Captured page offers a fourteen-day trial | Growth: internal and external collaboration and approvals | Not stated on the captured pricing page |
| SocialBee | Flat profile tiers | USD $49 monthly (Accelerate, ten profiles) | Captured page offers a fourteen-day trial without a card | Post approval system listed on Accelerate | Not stated in the captured pricing text |
| Metricool | Per brand; one profile per network | USD $25 monthly (Starter; brand/network limits; X extra) | Yes, one brand; excludes LinkedIn and X; twenty posts monthly | Post approval system on Advanced | MCP listed on Free; API on Advanced |
Swipe the table sideways to see every column.
One user assumed unless stated. Monthly billing except Hootsuite, shown as EUR annual total. Brand and social-set limits apply; optional add-ons excluded. No currency conversion or overall price ranking.
How to pick
Use the shortlist to reduce your trial list, then inspect the full workflow before moving scheduled content.
Count repeated networks
Separate account totals from network totals. Check how many brands or workspaces your distribution needs. Those restrictions can matter more than the largest capacity on a card.
Price the people and approvals
Count authors, reviewers and clients. Confirm their plan entitlements and whether approval blocks publishing. Add required seats or workspaces before comparing totals.
Test a small move first
Keep the old queue available while reviewing a small draft batch, timezone, images and required platform fields. Check approval revisions before moving the full calendar.
Questions
Which Buffer alternative costs least?
Compare your actual networks, seats, approvals and add-ons. Metricool counts brands, PEP Team assumes ten different networks, and Hootsuite is shown in EUR with annual billing. Their headline numbers describe different setups.
Does PostEveryPlatform have a free plan?
No permanent free plan. The default paid-plan offer is a 7-day trial requiring a card, but trials can be paused. Check Pricing for today's offer. Read-only access after a plan ends is not a free publishing plan.
Which alternatives support agents?
The cards name the API and MCP entitlements that the captured public pages establish. PEP includes scoped REST keys and hosted MCP on every paid plan. Postiz includes MCP, CLI and API; Buffer includes MCP even on Free. Confirm the permissions and the approval behavior, not just the connector name.
Can I connect two Instagram accounts to PEP Team?
A workspace holds only one account per network. An additional brand on Instagram needs another workspace, available to Agency owners. Agency workspaces share the subscription. Do not use the nominal Studio account allowance as evidence that repeated networks fit in one workspace.
SocialBee
Best for: Content categories and recycling workflows
SocialBee's Accelerate plan covers ten social profiles and one user in one workspace. It lists fifty content categories, thirty content sources, CSV uploads, a bulk post editor and a post approval system. Its monthly price is USD $49, with an annual charge of USD $490. That is a useful shortlist entry when organizing a content library matters as much as placing individual posts on a calendar.
Key features
What's missing
Switch from Buffer to SocialBee if
You work from a categorized content library and want the published CSV, category and approval features in one plan. Confirm how your reviewers fit the included user allowance before comparing its scheduling price with a plan that includes unlimited seats.
Source: socialbee.com/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.