Skip to content

Comparison

8 Hootsuite alternatives, with prices and limits

Looking beyond Hootsuite? Start with your accounts, reviewers and networks. These eight alternatives have different pricing units and approval workflows. The cards show ten-account costs under stated assumptions and where each tool falls short. Read the limits before comparing prices.

  • Prices checked
  • Updated

PostEveryPlatform made this page, so we are not neutral. Every fact about other tools links to the page we took it from, with the date we checked. If something is wrong or out of date, tell us and we fix it.

On this page

Hootsuite in short

Hootsuite sells paid plans per user. The captured Netherlands visit showed EUR prices based on annual billing. Standard covers ten accounts, while Professional lists unlimited accounts and adds inbox automation and custom performance reports. Advanced adds team approval and message assignment.

  • Standard: EUR 99 per user per month, billed annually
  • EUR 1,188 per year (Standard, one user, ten accounts)
  • No ongoing free offer stated; fourteen-day trial

Reasons to keep Hootsuite

  • Standard lists a messaging inbox and monitoring of your brand and competitors.
  • Professional adds automated inbox replies, workflows and custom performance reports.
  • Advanced lists coordinated team approval, message assignment and team performance features.

Choose Hootsuite instead if

Your team needs the published monitoring, messaging automation or reporting tools. Choose the right plan and multiply by actual user seats, then compare the EUR annual commitment with your own budget without assuming a USD conversion.

Sources: hootsuite.com/plans, hootsuite.com/platform/publishing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

When a different tool may fit

Your network mix changed

List each network and its account count. PEP allows one account per network per workspace; repeated networks need Agency workspaces. Brand and social-set products have different distribution limits. Compare the setup you can connect, not just nominal account capacity.

Your review process changed

Name the approver and whether publishing must wait. Preview comments, an enforced approval state and client sign-off are different workflows. Test revisions and the permissions of each reviewer before changing tools.

You need more than scheduling

List comments, messages, analytics and reports separately. Check the inbox gaps and add-on requirements in each card. Price the plan that actually includes the work you need before canceling a subscription.

How we compared

We read public pages in Chromium on 31 October 2026 and saved their visible text for quote checks. PEP facts and prices come from repository code. We did not run hands-on trials for every vendor.

Monthly billing is shown unless labeled otherwise. Hootsuite showed EUR on annual billing to a Netherlands visitor; we make no currency conversion. Prices exclude optional add-ons and assume the included minimum users. The list is organized by workflow, with our own tool marked, rather than ranked by incompatible price units.

“Not stated” means the captured public text did not establish the capability or entitlement. It does not prove the vendor cannot do it. Recheck the linked sources, exact plan and platform coverage before paying.

Eight alternatives

PostEveryPlatform Our tool

Best for: Agent drafts with owner approval by default

This is our tool. An agent can draft and schedule through scoped keys or hosted MCP, with owner approval on by default. Replies are not held. Team adds client approval links and unlimited seats; Solo is for one person. Agency includes white-label reports and client approval pages, a Clients overview, and monthly report links that always show the last full month. Start by counting different networks, because a second brand on the same network needs another workspace on Agency. Read the agent guide, API reference and plans before choosing.

Starting price
Solo: $19 monthly, or $180 for twelve months
10 accounts
$29 monthly (Team); ten different networks in one workspace
Free plan
No ongoing free plan; 7-day trial, card required; see Pricing for today's offer
Approvals
Agent gate on every paid plan; client links from Team
API / MCP
Scoped REST API and hosted MCP on every paid plan

Key features

  • Agent posts wait for owner approval by default; the owner can allow a key to skip approval.
  • Twelve posting networks include Reddit, Mastodon, Bluesky, X, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest and Google Business.
  • The inbox supports reading and replying on ten platforms, including Google Business reviews; post views or impressions, likes, comments and shares depend on posting partner analytics access.
  • Agency-only white-label reports and client approval pages use your name, logo and accent colour, with PostEveryPlatform branding hidden. No custom domain.

What's missing

  • X replies are not brought in: our posting partner does not import X comments. Pinterest comments are not available.
  • Custom domains for reports and client approval pages are not available. A second account on a network requires another workspace, available only with Agency.
  • There is no permanent free plan. Trials can be paused, so check Pricing for the current offer.

Switch from Hootsuite to PostEveryPlatform if

You want a scoped agent workflow with an explicit owner approval gate and your network mix fits the workspace rules. At thirty accounts, budget for Agency ($89 monthly); do not use Studio's nominal account allowance as a workaround.

Source: plans, agent guide and repository code.

Buffer

Best for: A free start and per-channel scheduling

Buffer prices paid scheduling by channel, with an ongoing free option for up to three channels. Essentials is the one-user scheduling plan in our cost comparison; Team adds team members and approval workflows. Its named channel list includes Substack, and its community inbox names X comments.

Starting price
Essentials: USD $6 per channel monthly through ten channels
10 accounts
USD $60 monthly (Essentials, ten channels)
Free plan
Yes, up to three channels
Approvals
Team lists content approval workflows
API / MCP
API access on pricing cards; MCP even on Free

Key features

  • The free option covers up to three channels; monthly paid scheduling grows with the number of channels.
  • The twelve named channel types include Substack, Bluesky, Mastodon and Google Business Profile.
  • The community inbox lists comments from ten networks, including X, and Essentials lists advanced analytics.

What's missing

  • Essentials is the scheduling price here; team approval features require the Team plan.
  • Ten channels cost more than fewer channels. At thirty, use the calculator's volume discount rather than multiplying the one-channel price.
  • A separate anonymous client approval link and a supported self-hosting option are not stated on the captured pages.

Switch from Hootsuite to Buffer if

You want to keep a free option for a small channel list, or need the Substack publishing and X comment support named on its public pages. Compare the approval plan separately from the cheapest scheduling price.

Sources: buffer.com/pricing, buffer.com/mcp. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

Postiz

Best for: More networks and a self-hosting option

Postiz advertises publishing to more than thirty channels and sells hosted plans by channel allowance. Standard is solo; Team and above list unlimited team members. It includes MCP, CLI and API access on every plan. Its approval guide describes collecting comments on a preview and then manually scheduling the draft.

Starting price
Standard: USD $29 monthly for five channels
10 accounts
USD $39 monthly (Team, ten channels)
Free plan
Hosted pricing offers a seven-day trial
Approvals
Preview feedback; no approved flag blocking publishing
API / MCP
MCP, CLI and API on every plan

Key features

  • Standard covers five channels, Team ten and Pro thirty, with unlimited posts listed on the pricing cards.
  • Named platforms include Discord as well as X, Reddit, Bluesky and Mastodon, within an advertised 30+ channel selection.
  • Self-hosting is offered as a secondary option; hosted plans include agent access and analytics.

What's missing

  • A preview link collects feedback; you move the post to scheduled after sign-off rather than relying on an approved flag.
  • Standard has no team support, so budget for Team if collaborators need access.
  • Imported inbox platform coverage and a white-label report entitlement are not stated in the captured text.

Switch from Hootsuite to Postiz if

You need its broader channel selection, want a self-hosting option or have a thirty-account setup where Pro's hosted price is lower than PEP Agency. Check the review flow if approval must block publishing.

Sources: postiz.com/pricing, docs.postiz.com/general/approvals, postiz.com. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

Planable

Best for: Review workflows and unlimited collaborators

Planable sells workspaces with page and monthly post limits. Basic holds four social pages and Pro ten; both list unlimited users and MCP. Pro adds a Public API and Grid view, and Enterprise lists multi-level approvals. The first fifty posts are free without a time limit or a card.

Starting price
Basic: USD $39 per workspace monthly for four pages
10 accounts
USD $59 monthly (one Pro workspace, ten pages)
Free plan
First fifty posts free; finite allowance
Approvals
Two types on Basic; three on Pro; multi-level Enterprise
API / MCP
MCP on Basic; Public API on Pro

Key features

  • Unlimited users are listed on both Basic and Pro, so a small page list can still have several collaborators.
  • Nine named scheduling networks include Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, YouTube, TikTok, Pinterest, Google Business Profile and Threads.
  • Pro lists Feed, Calendar and Grid views; Enterprise lists multi-level approvals.

What's missing

  • Basic allows sixty posts per workspace per month; Pro allows one hundred fifty.
  • Analytics and the social inbox are separate add-ons on Basic and Pro; the headline price excludes them.
  • The captured pricing text does not establish an anonymous approval link or a self-hosted product option.

Switch from Hootsuite to Planable if

You organize content review around a brand workspace, need unlimited collaborators on a small plan or require the published multi-level Enterprise approval flow. Include the inbox and analytics add-ons in a like-for-like budget.

Source: planable.io/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

Publer

Best for: A per-account calculator and a small free option

Publer offers a free option for three non-X accounts and a calculator for paid account quantities. With ten accounts and no additional members, its monthly calculator displayed USD $36 for Professional. It separately asks for additional members when collaboration and approval workflows are needed. Business lists API and MCP access.

Starting price
Professional: USD $5 monthly for one account; volume pricing applies
10 accounts
USD $36 monthly (Professional, ten accounts, no extra members)
Free plan
Yes, three social accounts except X
Approvals
Additional members for collaboration and approvals
API / MCP
API and MCP listed on Business

Key features

  • Professional lists unlimited scheduling and drafts, first comments, threads and media storage.
  • Unlimited workspaces and RSS automations are named in Professional's feature list.
  • Business lists access to the Publer API and MCP, plus analytics insights and reports.

What's missing

  • The free option excludes X and does not represent the paid API and MCP offering.
  • The ten-account quote assumes no extra members. Add collaborators in the calculator if they need approval workflows.
  • A separate anonymous approval link and imported inbox platform list are not established by these captured sources.

Switch from Hootsuite to Publer if

You prefer a bill based on account quantity and want to inspect it in a calculator. Check the Business tier for agent access, then add the members your review process needs rather than comparing a solo quote to a team plan.

Source: publer.com/plans. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

Later

Best for: Social sets, visual planning and review

Later sells social sets rather than an arbitrary number of individual profiles. Growth lists two sets with sixteen profiles total, two of each supported network, and two users. Its monthly price is USD $50. It includes internal and external collaboration and approvals and a social inbox.

Starting price
Starter: USD $25 monthly for one social set
10 accounts
USD $50 monthly (Growth, two social sets)
Free plan
Captured page offers a fourteen-day trial
Approvals
Growth: internal and external collaboration and approvals
API / MCP
Not stated on the captured pricing page

Key features

  • Growth includes two social sets and two users in the published monthly plan.
  • Internal and external collaboration and approvals appear together with its social inbox.
  • Growth lists a cap of one hundred eighty scheduled posts per profile and permits extra social sets for an additional charge.

What's missing

  • Two social sets mean two profiles of each supported network, not sixteen profiles on one network.
  • Growth's included users are limited to two; extra people and extra sets require an additional budget.
  • API access, MCP and a supported self-hosting option are not stated in the captured pricing text.

Switch from Hootsuite to Later if

Your account list fits social sets and you need its published internal and external review workflow. Write down the profile count per network, the number of reviewers and your monthly post volume before comparing it with a flat account tier.

Source: later.com/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

SocialBee

Best for: Content categories and recycling workflows

SocialBee's Accelerate plan covers ten social profiles and one user in one workspace. It lists fifty content categories, thirty content sources, CSV uploads, a bulk post editor and a post approval system. Its monthly price is USD $49, with an annual charge of USD $490. That is a useful shortlist entry when organizing a content library matters as much as placing individual posts on a calendar.

Starting price
Bootstrap: USD $29 monthly for five profiles
10 accounts
USD $49 monthly (Accelerate, ten profiles)
Free plan
Captured page offers a fourteen-day trial without a card
Approvals
Post approval system listed on Accelerate
API / MCP
Not stated in the captured pricing text

Key features

  • Accelerate lists fifty content categories and thirty content sources for organizing reusable material.
  • Unlimited AI content generation, CSV uploads and a bulk post editor are named on Accelerate.
  • Advanced analytics and up to two years of analytics data are listed on Accelerate.

What's missing

  • Accelerate includes one user in one workspace, so compare seats alongside profile capacity.
  • Its ten-profile allowance does not price an arbitrary larger account list; choose a plan with the right capacity.
  • The captured text does not establish REST API access, MCP or a separate anonymous client approval link.

Switch from Hootsuite to SocialBee if

You work from a categorized content library and want the published CSV, category and approval features in one plan. Confirm how your reviewers fit the included user allowance before comparing its scheduling price with a plan that includes unlimited seats.

Source: socialbee.com/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

Metricool

Best for: Per-brand analytics and reporting

Metricool prices by brand. Each brand holds one profile for each social network or ad platform, so a Starter plan with up to five brands can cover ten accounts when their distribution fits. The captured monthly USD rate for that Starter quantity is USD $25. X is an add-on, and role management, approvals and API access are listed on Advanced.

Starting price
Starter: USD $25 monthly for up to five brands
10 accounts
USD $25 monthly (Starter; brand/network limits; X extra)
Free plan
Yes, one brand; excludes LinkedIn and X; twenty posts monthly
Approvals
Post approval system on Advanced
API / MCP
MCP listed on Free; API on Advanced

Key features

  • Starter lists PDF and PPT reports, analytics with unlimited history and multiple link-in-bio pages.
  • Advanced lists team and client management, roles, approval workflows and customizable report templates.
  • Each brand can manage one profile per network or ad platform; Free lists Metricool MCP.

What's missing

  • The headline Starter price excludes the X add-on and Advanced's team approval and API capabilities.
  • A second profile on the same network needs another brand; inspect the brand distribution before comparing account totals.
  • Free excludes LinkedIn and Twitter and limits publishing to twenty posts per month.

Switch from Hootsuite to Metricool if

You want brand-based reporting and your account distribution fits the brand allowances. Choose Advanced when you need its documented roles, approvals or API; do not attach those features to the cheaper Starter quote.

Source: metricool.com/pricing. Checked 31 Oct 2026.

Side by side

Hootsuite and eight alternatives: costs and capabilities, checked 31 October 2026
ToolPrice model10 accounts a monthFree planApprovalsAPI / MCP
Hootsuitefor referencePer user; annual EUR shownEUR 1,188 per year (Standard, one user, ten accounts)No ongoing free offer stated; fourteen-day trialAdvanced adds team review and approvalAI chat tools named; REST API entitlement not stated
PostEveryPlatformFlat plan; network/workspace limits$29 monthly (Team); ten different networks in one workspaceNo ongoing free plan; 7-day trial, card required; see Pricing for today's offerAgent gate on every paid plan; client links from TeamScoped REST API and hosted MCP on every paid plan
BufferPer channel; volume discountUSD $60 monthly (Essentials, ten channels)Yes, up to three channelsTeam lists content approval workflowsAPI access on pricing cards; MCP even on Free
PostizFlat channel tiersUSD $39 monthly (Team, ten channels)Hosted pricing offers a seven-day trialPreview feedback; no approved flag blocking publishingMCP, CLI and API on every plan
PlanablePer workspaceUSD $59 monthly (one Pro workspace, ten pages)First fifty posts free; finite allowanceTwo types on Basic; three on Pro; multi-level EnterpriseMCP on Basic; Public API on Pro
PublerPer account with volume pricingUSD $36 monthly (Professional, ten accounts, no extra members)Yes, three social accounts except XAdditional members for collaboration and approvalsAPI and MCP listed on Business
LaterSocial sets; per-network limitsUSD $50 monthly (Growth, two social sets)Captured page offers a fourteen-day trialGrowth: internal and external collaboration and approvalsNot stated on the captured pricing page
SocialBeeFlat profile tiersUSD $49 monthly (Accelerate, ten profiles)Captured page offers a fourteen-day trial without a cardPost approval system listed on AccelerateNot stated in the captured pricing text
MetricoolPer brand; one profile per networkUSD $25 monthly (Starter; brand/network limits; X extra)Yes, one brand; excludes LinkedIn and X; twenty posts monthlyPost approval system on AdvancedMCP listed on Free; API on Advanced

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

One user assumed unless stated. Monthly billing except Hootsuite, shown as EUR annual total. Brand and social-set limits apply; optional add-ons excluded. No currency conversion or overall price ranking.

How to pick

Use the shortlist to reduce your trial list, then inspect the full workflow before moving scheduled content.

  1. Count repeated networks

    Separate account totals from network totals. Check how many brands or workspaces your distribution needs. Those restrictions can matter more than the largest capacity on a card.

  2. Price the people and approvals

    Count authors, reviewers and clients. Confirm their plan entitlements and whether approval blocks publishing. Add required seats or workspaces before comparing totals.

  3. Test a small move first

    Keep the old queue available while reviewing a small draft batch, timezone, images and required platform fields. Check approval revisions before moving the full calendar.

Questions

Which Hootsuite alternative costs least?

Compare your actual networks, seats, approvals and add-ons. Metricool counts brands, PEP Team assumes ten different networks, and Hootsuite is shown in EUR with annual billing. Their headline numbers describe different setups.

Does PostEveryPlatform have a free plan?

No permanent free plan. The default paid-plan offer is a 7-day trial requiring a card, but trials can be paused. Check Pricing for today's offer. Read-only access after a plan ends is not a free publishing plan.

Which alternatives support agents?

The cards name the API and MCP entitlements that the captured public pages establish. PEP includes scoped REST keys and hosted MCP on every paid plan. Postiz includes MCP, CLI and API; Buffer includes MCP even on Free. Confirm the permissions and the approval behavior, not just the connector name.

Can I connect two Instagram accounts to PEP Team?

A workspace holds only one account per network. An additional brand on Instagram needs another workspace, available to Agency owners. Agency workspaces share the subscription. Do not use the nominal Studio account allowance as evidence that repeated networks fit in one workspace.

Check your account mix before choosing

For PostEveryPlatform, compare your networks and reviewers with the current plan limits. Solo is $19 monthly, Team $29, and Agency $89 for multiple workspaces. Trial availability is shown on Pricing.